APC Sweeps Lagos LG Elections As Residents Commend LASIEC|FortNews

Many residents of Lagos who participated in the just concluded local government elections have commended the Lagos State Independent Electoral Commission (LASIEC) for organizing a credible and transparent poll.

The residents who spoke at various polling booths expressed satisfaction with the conduct of the elections.

They also blamed the rains for the poor turnout of voters and late arrival of electoral officials to the polling booths.
Our correspondent who was at Surulere to monitor the elections reports that electoral officials arrived early for accreditation and voting at Ward F polling unit 008.

In his comment on the conduct of the election, a chieftain of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Hon. Stephen, said accreditation and voting went well and there was no disturbance.

According to him, the election was free and fair and the process was peaceful.

At Ward F1, Polling Unit 007 (Zone A), Mr Idowu Oluwasesan, Labour Party agent, commended the conduct of the election but observed that there was low turn out of voters which he attributed to the heavy downpour.

Mr Oluwasesan also blamed the late arrival of LASIEC officials and electoral materials on the rain.

At Ward F1, polling unit 003, Mr Emmanuel Taiwo, was not impressed with the turn out of voters which he attributed to the rain.

He expressed satisfaction with the early arrival of the electoral officers, adding that accreditation and voting started at exactly 9 am.

Another voter, Mr Adedeji Olanrewaju said that the process was peaceful except for the low turnout.

At the end of the voting exercise, APC worn in all three polling booths. Results from other polling booths across Surulere LGA were still being collated as at the time of filing this report.

Results for Ward F1, Polling Unit 003 after collation and counting show the parties standing.

Chairman: APC-50, LP-6, PDP-2, 1-blank

Councillors: APC-51, LP-3, PDP-2

Results for Ward D Unit 001, Oremeta Street, Ojodu:


Accord- 1

APC -38

PDP -15;



APC -36

PDP -19
Source: PMNEWS


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s